We are a statutory body which has been managing and coordinating regional development since 1975. Our work is based on the FrankfurtRheinMain Metropolitan Region Act passed by the State Parliament of Hesse, effective since April 1, 2011. We are also the platform for the strategic orientation and goals of regional companies. We are responsible for the development of a joint image of the region and create and update the regional preparatory land use plan and landscape plan. Finally, we carry out regional monitoring and provide comprehensive services to our member municipalities.

This catalog of responsibilities requires close cooperation from all parties. All 75 member municipalities are represented in the Regional Chamber. The Regional Board includes the District Administrators of the districts Groß-Gerau, Hochtaunus, Main-Kinzig, Main-Taunus, Offenbach, and Wetterau as well as the two Mayors of the self-governing cities Frankfurt and Offenbach. In addition, we try to include all other actors of the metropolitan region. Regional policy no longer ends at the administrative borders, but the strengths of the entire region must be consolidated in the competition of the metropolitan regions. It is our responsibility to get the region ready for the future in the competition for smart minds, green ideas, investments and work places.

Have fun on our site! We’re happy to hear your suggestions.


Organizational Chart Regional Authority